Hopeless in a Jar

Let me just get this off my chest, I think Philosophy products are extremely overpriced and generally not worth it. That being said I do feel like they have several great products that I am OBSESSED with. However, the moisturizer Hope in a Jar is not one of them. There, I said it.

Most people are probably scratching their heads right about now. I know it’s considered a cult beauty product, and I know Oprah recommends it, but I just hate it. There is literally nothing special about it. It does not offer me hope, just despair and longing for the $40 I wasted on it.

I want to love this, I really do. I have tried to multiple times, it’s always the same though. First I get a whiff of the smell, then I have to make myself apply it as I grimace. It’s not a pretty sight. There is one good thing about this moisturizer, the texture. It feels like a souffle, that being said souffle’s are better when eaten not applied to the face.

According the Philosophy this moisturizer was created for the medical market, it claims to deliver glowing, soft, supple, skin. It delivered three different adjectives for me though, I got red and blotchy, irritated, and bumpy skin. 😦 Not so pretty. With the fabulous ingredients that this contains its amazing that this moisturizer missed the mark. In fact, this contains “An infusion of yeast-derived beta glucan supports the skin’s natural defense system and improves repair capabilities.” Which sounds incredible. In actuality it’s just an antibacterial ingredient that can help keep you from getting infections. I suppose the new slogan for this should be “lather it on your cuts to avoid gangrenous lesions.”

All in all, I don’t feel like this is worth the money, Oprah’s seal of approval, and certainly not mine. If hope isn’t what you’re looking for, go ahead and give it a whirl, otherwise stay way. Far far away.

 

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

