Five for Friday- Cult Beauty Favorites

When I was younger I would scour beauty magazines looking for the next new trend and product. That’s when I first heard the term “cult beauty.” I of course thought that meant make-up that people in cults wore, I was fascinated to say the least. After further research and the advent of the internet I soon learned that it didn’t mean make-up that people in cults wore, but make-up that had a strong following. Since then I have tried out just about every beauty product to be coined with the term. Some of those products have lived up to the hype while others have disappointed me. Can you say, Great Lash Mascara?

As a make-up artist I have made it my mission to test all of the products with the label “cult beauty” and give them the “Jessica Seal of Approval” as well. The following are my top 5 “Jessica Approved” cult beauty products; the Holy Grail of my make-up and skin care collection.

1. Nars Blush in Orgasm

Way to get a girl excited, Nars! This peachy pink color instantly warms up any complexion and gives you a beautiful “I’ve-just-been-naughty-glow.” The slight shimmer adds a youthful touch, and it photographs beautifully. I use this on so many of my brides, kind of ironic, huh?

2. Urban Decay Primer Potion

I don’t like to talk about the days before this. They were so dark and dreary, generally do to my runny eyeliners and fading shadows. Thankfully since I have had UDPP in my life those days are gone. The silicone blends help to make eye shadows last longer, the colors truer, and smears a thing of the past.

3. Tweezerman Tweezers

Like most of you I’m sure, at first I thought that $20 was a bit steep for tweezers. I was wrong, completely and utterly wrong. That wasn’t the only thing I was wrong about though. I also thought that I had pesky hair, it always took at least 3 tries to get them out. After I bought these tweezers I had two epiphanies, my hair was fine, and for what these puppies can do, $20 is a bargain.

4. Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream

I hate that I love this so much. I try to stay away from it, I just can’t. First off, its petroleum based, and it contains lanolin. Ugh.  you would think that would be enough to keep me away, but its my biggest guilty pleasure.  It moisturizes, protects, heals, and works miracles. It doesn’t get better than that.

5. Stila Kitten Eyeshadow

A neutral beige with a glint of gold sheen, this eyeshadow is a treasured favorite  of mine. Nothing compares to this color and shimmer. It’s perfect for every skin tone, I love to use it as a highlight color on my cheekbones also. It’s so versatile, everyone should have this in their kit.

Comments
One Response to “Five for Friday- Cult Beauty Favorites”

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

