Moms: The Original Beauty Guru’s

Mom’s are the original beauty guru’s, its no surprise some of the best beauty lessons I ever learned were from my own mom. Over the years she has taught me many important lessons; from how to make a blueberry pie to how to choose my foundation. The beauty industry would not be where it is today if it weren’t for moms, I have all the moms in my life to thank for my place in the industry. In honor of all of them, I wanted to share the tips, tricks, and the occasional myths that they shared with me.

1. Make that face again it’ll freeze that way. When I was much younger I used to love making faces at my brother to make him cry. I know, horrible. My mom would got so exasperated with me that she would say “If you keep making that face, it’ll stay that way!” I would roll my eyes at her, but secretly I was a tad worried about it. Now that I’m older I know that my face isn’t going to freeze, but it definitely could cause wrinkles. As many times as I would repeat the same facial movements its amazing that I’m not a wrinkly mess yet.

2. Keep your hair out of your face. I have had a love/hate relationship with my hair for as long as I can remember, however my mom has just had a “hate” relationship with it. She could never get it styled properly and out of my face. She would try everything. Eventually I just decided that it was going to fall where it fell and that she should leave it alone. It was right after that, that I started to get pimples on my forehead. The oils from my scalp were getting onto my skin and causing my pores to become clogged. Gross! It didn’t take long for me to realize that she was right yet again, and allow her to put it up after all.

3. Leave your nails alone. One of my vices is biting my nails, I’ve been doing it since I was a kid. It’s just one of the habits that I can’t seem to break. (Sorry mom.) I always thought that she was just nagging me about it, now I know that there are actual risks associated with it, like infection and damaging the nail bed. Every time I catch myself biting them, I think of her and her lectures, it’s usually enough to keep me from doing it.

4.Eat your vegetables.  Eating veggies has never been something I’m especially good at, I think I’m allergic to them in general. My mom would always make me sit at the table till I finished all of them, or managed to slip them all to the dog without her noticing. At one point I told her she was just being mean and making me eat foods I don’t like. Now of course I know that vegetables are full f antioxidants that are great for my skin.

5. Don’t pick at your face. I had awful acne as a kid, I looked like a pizza. Disgusting. I used to pick at every little spot over and over again. My mom would always bust my chops over it telling me I was going to cause scars and make the acne worse. That was during my “whatever” phase, so I would just scoff at her. She couldn’t have been more right though, now when I feel the need to pick I reach for my extraction tool and get them out the right way.

6. Don’t over do it. I was a child of the 80’s (okay just barely as a baby, but still) it’s no wonder that I gravitate towards blue eye shadow so much. I have always liked my make-up to really stand out. You can imagine the girl in the sixth grade with eyeshadow that could rival a peacock, that was me. Obviously that wasn’t a good look for such a young girl, so my mom taught me how to tone things down a bit. I still love to wear my blue eye shadow, but I do know how to keep it natural.

7. Get your sleep. Every night like clock work my mom would (try) to send me to bed at 9 pm, it never worked. I would stall as much as I could, then beg to stay up just a little longer. I never made it to bed before 10. Being a 7 year old kid staying up late was the best part of the day. Who needs beauty sleep anyway? Fast forward 15 years and that kid who always wanted to stay up wants nothing more than to curl up in bed. Not getting enough sleep puts the skin through a lot of stress and can aggravate pre-existing conditions. Uhh, I don’t need that. Bring on the beauty sleep.

All in all, everything that my mom said to me was true, she was really on to something with all of it. Not that I would expect anything less from my personal beauty guru.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mom’s out there.

Comments
2 Responses to “Moms: The Original Beauty Guru’s”
  1. Char McCoy says:

    I love that yo called moms the original beauty gurus, I have always tried to help my daughter with her beauty regimen. This is precious.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 42 other followers

